Latin Grammys: Why no protest over lopsided awards

First my disclaimer, I don’t care too much for watching entertainers patting each other on the back. My family does though, my wife and stepchildren from Honduras, and so they watched the Latin Grammy Awards show kin Las Vegas the other day.

The news is that this band Calle 13 broke records for how many Grammys are received in one night, and some other record.

My wife and the stepkids were totally disgusted at the lopsided event.

Hearing some of their music, and the other artists’, it is quite an exercise in twisted perception to regard this tilt as having musical merit, plus I somehow doubt record sales would provide a clue.

My family members were disgusted in fact what they viewed as the disconnect between the voting and the musical qualities of the candidates.

To my opinion, it’s another example of the infiltration of political considerations into the thinking of so-called opinion-makers and producers of intellectual products.

Because otherwise it just doesn’t make sense.

Tags: , ,